About Us

Sigma Mission

The mission of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (Sigma) is advancing world health and celebrating nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service. 


Society Vision
Sigma's vision is to be the global organization of choice for nursing. Learn more about Sigma.

Chapter Region

Sigma's chapters are separated into six global regions. The North America region is further divided into 15 geographic regions. To learn more about the organization's regions, visit the Sigma website.

Headquarters Information
Chapter-specific questions should be directed to the chapter's contact person listed in the chapter directory. If you have questions about your membership, renewals or benefits, please contact Sigma headquarters. 

550 W. North Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202 USA

888.634.7575 (US/Canada toll-free)
+1.317.634.8171 (International)

Call center staff are available to assist you Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time.

Chapter History  

    Clarkson College has a long tradition of academic excellence. Founded in 1888 as Bishop Clarkson College of Nursing, the school has been at the forefront of nursing in Nebraska for over 120+ years. It started first as a diploma program, then as a degree - granting program and now as a comprehensive institution of higher learning. 

    In 1988, the school received North Central accreditation followed by accreditation of the baccalaureate program in nursing from the National League of Nursing (NLN). In 1991, the college name was changed and other health care programs added. In 1995, the baccalaureate program in nursing received continuing accreditation and the master's program in nursing received initial accreditation. 

    In March of 1986, the Dean of Nursing became interested in having an honor society in nursing that would recognize those who had demonstrated superior academic performance and who had distinguished themselves as clinical scholars and leaders. In April of 1986, a steering committee made up of faculty (Dr. Gloria Gross, Dr. Mary Larsen, Mary Margaret Schaffner, Mary Kelly and Marcia Stone) was formed to organize the development of an honor society. They drafted bylaws in September 1987, which were accepted by the College Council in October 1987. The structure and the bylaws of the honor society were modeled after those of Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) and had as their goals the following: (1) foster high professional standards, (2) encourage creative work and (3) strengthen the commitment to the ideals and purposes of the nursing profession. A Nominating Committee of faculty was formed and a ballot was prepared. 

    The first annual meeting was held in November of 1988. From 1988 through 1991, annual inductions were held. In 1991, Dr. Fay L. Bower, Clarkson College President, helped the Honor Society Board in its efforts to become a chapter of STTI. She assisted the Board in interpreting and using the materials from STTI as they formalized the structure and operations of the Honor Society. The Chartering Ceremony was held on April 4, 1998 and the Clarkson College Honor Society became Omicron Epsilon chapter, the 363rd chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International. 

    Omicron Epsilon Chapter remains today a vital, active honor society dedicated to high professional standards and enriching the profession of nursing.